word salad.


Way to drop the ball Maine! (Bit of a rant)
November 6, 2009, 12:28 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Yesterday was a sad day. Maine overturned a ruling that previously allowed same-sex marriages when they took it to the polls. Similar instances have happened now in thirty-one US States. There’s a little something disheartening in that number. If you recall there are only 50 states in the US, and if 31/50 have voted against this that means 62% of them thus far have smacked equality right where it hurts. The funny thing was, I was always indifferent with this. Do I even want to get married someday? Does it even matter? As I’ve grown inside and outside I’ve realized that it certainly does matter.

And it’s not the actual issue of marriage that matters, it’s the fact that gays and lesbians in our country are being regarded as second class citizens. By excluding homosexuals from the rights of United States citizen, you are demoting them to a “less than” citizen. They have limited legal rights, civil rights and economic opportunities and this very principle is a violation of our basic human rights and our own constitution.

When I was a young punk I scoffed at the idea of fighting for my rights. What are they talking about? I have rights! Come to find out later in life…I really don’t. I have to file “single” on my tax return. If my partner was in the hospital, there’s a chance I wouldn’t be able to see her considering I am not a family member or spouse. I’ve been called perverted, ungodly, immoral, and confused. But what’s worse is when I’m told I choose to be these things. And, for the record, I don’t consider myself any of the aforementioned adjectives.

I am a productive member of society. I work, I pay my taxes, I volunteer, and I am in a committed relationship based on the same values as any other. It breaks my heart more and more than I am considered anything less than other citizens who have been blessed with the normalcy and convenience of heterosexuality. Don’t get me wrong: I wouldn’t have my life any other way exactly than how it is.

I am just utterly befuddled that the general population gets a say in my personal life. It makes me angry. It makes me want to go into their weddings, and simply shut the whole operation down and tell them: “Sorry but you can’t do this.” And when they ask why I’ll just say, “I don’t know, cause I said so.” Why is this something to be voted on? Why do other people get to decide? It makes me want to throw up my hands and have an all out hissy fit at no one in particular.

But then I remember to breath. And I think to myself “Instead of kicking and screaming, why don’t I do something about it?” To the Beastie Boys dismay I will no longer just be fighting for my right to party, but I will be fighting for my rights. Maybe I’ll see you there. If not, maybe I will see you when I come and crash your wedding!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

